Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Co Violet by R. Dycavinu is filled with action, adventure and all kinds of cool. The new superhero on the block is Co– an energy sword-wielding, spike-shooting, disc-throwing, bad-guy-butt-kicker. There’s none other with the nerve to nose up to Wolverine and say “down puppy!” Move over Marvel; make way for mega-man, Co Violet!

But in all seriousness…

My five-year-old son penned his first story the other day.

Co dodged as the lightning struck. Co vibrated his energy sword. As he managed to bring out his energy sword, Co shot out ropes. When Co shot out his ropes, he knocked out a bad guy. Co shot out spikes then he threw a disc. Co slashed. He whipped. Co kicked his enemy. He won.

As a mom, it was marvel-ously exciting to watch him work away! As a writer, I learned a few literary lessons that I believe are beneficial:

  1. Assume you can. I watched as my son tackled word after word. There was no distinction between easy and hard. There was no sense of limitation. No thought given to achievability. I love that he was undaunted by words such as managed, vibrated and hexagon. At what age do we begin to box ourselves into pre-conceived notions of what we can and can’t do? As writers, we may face times when we question our capabilities: Can I craft convincing characters? Is the structure of this story solid? Will I ever finish this novel!? Do away with doubt and assume you can.
  2. Write what you know (and love!) Write what you know’ is a common adage for writers, but there’s something more to be said about writing what you love. Morning to night, my son had his notebook and pen in hand… he was writing what he loved and it kept him going… story after story.
  3. Write to learn and discover. “Mom! I wrote the word ‘man’ but actually I was trying to write ‘managed’. Did you know that ‘managed’ has the word ‘man’ in it?”
  4. Write for yourself. “Mom, when I’m done writing my story, will you read it to me?”
  5. There’s an exception to every rule. English isn’t easy– especially for a five-year-old who’s just beginning to figure out phonetics (oo, o, ue, ew, ou all produce the same sound– and vastly different sounds). And while there may be ‘rules’ to follow in story-telling, sometimes it’s necessary to take (or make) the exception.

I Love Shapes by R. Dycavinu

How old were you when you wrote your first story? What literary lessons have you learned? Who’s your favourite superhero? Your comments are welcome!

