Tags

, , , , , ,

Have you ever gotten in trouble for saying a naughty word? What happened? What was your punishment? (Should I dare ask about the word!?)

Well, today I’m excited to announce I can officially strike the P-Word off my ‘censored’ list. That’s right, I’m a published writer.

Honestly, it’s nothing so grand as a book deal, but I’m happy with these first few steps. Gotta start somewhere! I even added a Publication/Prizes page over at Word Weaver. Here’s the scoop:

Duplicity, a flash fiction piece I wrote, won second place in the WOW! Women On Writing Fall 2012 Flash Fiction contest. You can read the story here and an interview with me here. The contest runs quarterly and, if you’re a writer, I encourage you to check it out.

ALSO

Inanna’s Song (short fiction) won second in the Royal City Literary Arts Society Contest and can be read online here.

At the moment, I feel inclined to quote Bilbo Baggins: “It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” So, writers, don’t keep your work holed up at home. Send it out the door and be prepared to be swept away on an amazing adventure. The journey starts with small steps.

P.S. I really am interested in hearing your naughty-word stories.

