Tags

, , , , , , ,

If you play with fire, expect to get burned.

It’s a common saying. Probably because it’s common sense. I remember as a child being warned about the dangers of fire, practicing fire drills and reciting the mantra Stop, Drop and Roll. As a parent, I certainly keep the matches out of reach and issue a fair share of cautions around the campfire.

But when my son asks if we can do some fire writing and explains to me what he has in mind, my response is an immediate YES!

Here’s what you need:

1 wooden skewer (broken into two pieces)

1 candle

Heavy-weight paper

Parental Supervision (my son knows he’s only allowed to fire write with mom or dad)

The instructions are basic. Simply hold your wooden skewer in the candle flame until it chars (blow it out fairly quick if it catches fire) and voila! You have a writing utensil created by fire. What could be more inspiring to a six-year-old storyteller?

Designing symbols for his story, Box Troc Eleven

Even my two-year-old daughter gives fire writing a try. After making a few marks (that I think look like tree branches) she asks me to draw her Playmobil princess.

We have a ridiculously sensitive fire alarm. Surprisingly, it isn’t triggered during our fire writing session.

Playing with fire is bad for those who burn themselves.  For the rest of us, it is a very great pleasure.  ~Author Unknown

How about you? Ever play with fire (literally or figuratively)? Ever write a story with the feeling of smoke coming off your pen? Remember any stories you wrote as a child? Comments are welcome!

