Tags

, , , , , ,

Face to FaceThe first week of Advent draws to a close. In all your expectations, moments of waiting and longing, may you find yourself face to face with the God of Hope.

Are you ready for what’s to come? For Who’s to come? Here’s a poem–a prayer– for you:

 

Jesus, I am ready. 

I am ready to meet you daily…

     reflect on your birth,

     and notice how your story impacts mine.

I am ready to be silent…

     and let myself adore you.

I am ready to wonder…

     How would you like to be celebrated?

     What gifts shall we give?

I am ready to let go…

     of things on my list that aren’t on yours.

I am ready to gather with others…

     to sing, worship, and celebrate. 

I am ready to welcome and receive…

     all of who you are

     and all of who I am.

And that means…

I am ready to do all these things

     the only way I can—

     imperfectly and inconsistently.

Come thou long-expected Jesus.

Come now.

Don’t wait until I’m ready.

by Esther Hizsa

***

Introduction to Face to Face: Advent Reflections

Poem/Prayer © 2013 by Esther Hizsa, An Everyday Pilgrim. Used with permission.

© 2013 Kelly Dycavinu, Popcorn with a Spoon. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided there is a link to the original content and credit is given as follows: © 2013 Kelly Dycavinu, Popcorn with a Spoon https://kellydycavinu.wordpress.com/

