Tags

, , , , , ,

Mosaic Peace Dove
 
Second Monday: Zechariah

Read: Luke 1:19-23

 

In Silence

In silence I stumbled like a chastised child out of the Holy Place and into the bright morning sun beyond. All the people were there, waiting faces turned up to see what had been taking me so long.

Instinctively I raised my hand in blessing, and the crowd fell silent, but it was a silence I could not fill. There was an awkward pause, and then suddenly everyone was talking at once. (Everyone except me of course.)

“Surely he’s seen a vision!”

“…..Or maybe an angel!”

“…..Give him space!”

“……Give him water!”

“….Let him pass, clearly the hand of God goes with him!”

I could hardly wait to finish my assigned time at the temple. I fled home to the arms of my Elizabeth, away from the fawning respect of those who did not understand that indeed the hand of God followed me, but in judgment, not in blessing.

Or so I thought.

Have you ever heard of a God that seeks you in the darkness? That meets you best in brokenness? Who plucks you from despair? Even the despair of your own sinful heart?

The hurt and anger I had worked so hard to hide were forced into His light… and yet I found He loved me still! He knew all about my dark secret and still had included me in His glorious plans.

I found my peace with God in the silence.

by Susan Horikiri

***

Question: What did Zechariah learn about God?

Together: Tell about an unexpected way that God has met you in your life.

Prayer: Thank you, Father, that you gladly come and find us right in the very middle of our messes and imperfections. Grant us eyes to see You coming! Amen.

***

Introduction to Face to Face: Advent Reflections

In Silence © 2013 by Susan Horikiri. Used with permission.

© 2013 Kelly Dycavinu, Popcorn with a Spoon. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided there is a link to the original content and credit is given as follows: © 2013 Kelly Dycavinu, Popcorn with a Spoon https://kellydycavinu.wordpress.com/

