Tags

, , , , , ,

Second Wednesday: Joseph (What Child is This?)

Read: Matthew 1:18-25

Heavy Weight Lifted

A child?

Impossible.

Surely there’s been a mistake. A misunderstanding?

Not Mary. Not my Mary.

Fear and doubt wrestle me to the ground. It can’t be true, can it? Mary with child? We are yet to be united as one. How can this be?

Anger grips me in a choke hold. I can’t breathe. If anyone has harmed her!

But, no. She says that’s not so.

If she’s not been harmed, and the child is not mine… what then?

Sorrow slams into my soul, dropkicking me to the dirt. I’m down for the count.

One.

My Mary with another man?

No, she wouldn’t, would she?

Two.

You’re a fool, Joseph. There had to be someone else.

What other explanation is there?

Three.

I will call off the marriage. Quickly. Quietly.

I wait for the bell, the ding ding ding, to announce my defeat. But it does not come. Instead, I hear: “Joseph son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary home as your wife, because what is conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.”

A heavy weight lifts from my shoulders. There is no other man. The someone else—the other explanation—is God!

St. Josephby Kelly Dycavinu

***

Question: Sometimes earthly explanations fall short because God can work the impossible. Do you have any examples from your own life? Have you ever struggled to make sense of a situation only to discover God was in it all along?

Together: Sing What Child Is This?

Prayer: God, we may not always understand Your ways, but we trust in Your promise that, in all things, You work for the good of those who love You (Romans 8:28). Amen.

What Child is this who laid to rest
On Mary’s lap is sleeping?
Whom angels greet with anthems sweet,
While shepherds watch are keeping?

This, this is Christ the King,
Whom shepherds guard and angels sing;
Haste, haste, to bring Him laud,
The Babe, the Son of Mary.

Nails and spear shall pierce Him through,
The cross be borne for me, for you.
Hail, hail the Word made flesh,
The Babe, the Son of Mary.

So bring Him incense, gold and myrrh,
Come peasant, king to own Him;
The King of kings salvation brings,
Let loving hearts enthrone Him.

***

Introduction to Face to Face: Advent Reflections

© 2013 Kelly Dycavinu, Popcorn with a Spoon. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided there is a link to the original content and credit is given as follows: © 2013 Kelly Dycavinu, Popcorn with a Spoon https://kellydycavinu.wordpress.com/

