Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Face to Face
Fourth Tuesday: Mary

Read: Luke 2: 16-20

On Being Loved

Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.

As I think about Mary and the first time she held Jesus in her arms, I can’t help but recall when I became a mother. I remember holding my newborn son. I remember watching him sleep and studying his face, his nose, his lips. I remember the overwhelming love I felt for him. I marveled, not so much about the extent of my capacity to love another, but about the nature of the love itself. It was a love centered entirely on him, who he was, his very being. It was not associated with any aspect of behaviour or what he had done (how could it be?). For the first time in my life, I felt I had a glimpse of the unconditional love God feels for us—love that is directed toward our very being and completely disconnected from our doing.

How often do we seek to earn His love? How often do we rely on our own actions to gain acceptance? How often is our best behavior really about begging to belong?

God’s love is unconditional. It can’t be earned. It can’t be bought. It can’t be bartered or sold. Period. Yet, while we cannot earn His love with our actions, we can honour it with them. First, by receiving His love and, second, by sharing it.

by Kelly Dycavinu

My Son © 2007 by Kelly Dycavinu. All Rights Reserved.

My Son © 2007 by Kelly Dycavinu. All Rights Reserved.

***

Question: Did you know that Jesus loves you as much as God loves Him?

Together: Read John 15:9. Share with your child(ren) about the moment you first met them, about the first time you held each of them in your arms, and about how you felt.

Prayer: Thank you, God, for making us perfectly wonderful (Psalm 139:14) and for loving us the way You love Jesus. Amen.

***

Introduction to Face to Face: Advent Reflections

© 2013 Kelly Dycavinu, Popcorn with a Spoon. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided there is a link to the original content and credit is given as follows: © 2013 Kelly Dycavinu, Popcorn with a Spoon https://kellydycavinu.wordpress.com/

