Tags

, , , ,

It’s 8:30 pm and my three-year-old daughter comes to my office for a goodnight kiss. However, she stops in the doorway and starts laughing at me.

What? I wonder. What did I do?

“Mom! Why are you wearing your sunglasses?” she exclaims.

Oh. Yeah. I forgot about the sunglasses.

Even a three-year-old knows it’s ridiculous to wear sunglasses at night, but what’s a blurry-eyed editing-mode mom supposed to do? No amount of eye drops or tinkering with screen settings seems to help my agitated eyes. So… Corey Hart meet Maui Jim meet mom-on-a-mission.

It’s now 12:45 am.

I wear my sunglasses at night.

***

Contests! Here are a few coming up:

  1. February 28th. WOW! Women on Writing Winter 2014 Flash Fiction Contest. Details here.
  2. February 28th. The Manchester Writing for Children Prize 2014. Details here.
  3. March 1st. The Writers’ Union of Canada Short Prose Competition. Details here.
  4. March 3rd. 2014 Askew’s Foods’ Word on the Lake Writing Contest (Shuswap Association of Writers). Details here.
  5. April 30th. 2014 Bristol Short Story Prize. Details here.

Write away! Write now!

