Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Do you have a writing ritual?

You know, that ‘thing’ you just have to do before you can get going on your writing. Like rotating the hands of your clock until the time reads 8 am? Or turning around all your photos and figurines so that there are no eyes watching you while you work? Maybe you’re among the more sane and simply can’t work without your cup of coffee or tea at your side? Or perhaps you sit in a special spot?

I have a writing ritual. And (this may come as a surprise to those who know me) it’s not in the form of an obsessive compulsive behavior. Mine’s more Pavlovian in nature.

When I sit down to write, I play the theme song to Azrael’s Stop. Close your eyes and listen to this:

The moment I hear that first chord played on the piano, a part of my soul springs to life. Then the guitar grabs another piece of me. The strings soothe the anxious parts while the bass beckons my entire being forward. By the time the electric guitar erupts, I am inspired. I have entered a realm where one is meant laugh and tease, sing and dance, and tell stories. Through this music I meet my Muse. Always and without fail.

I can’t RAVE enough about Azrael’s Stop by Lucas J.W. Johnson and the team at Silverstring Media. It’s solid and sophisticated storytelling accompanied by a soundtrack of outstanding quality. Not to mention that it’s a purely unique experience to participate in a story told across multiple platforms.

Azrael’s Stop is an experimental fiction and music project, about life, death, and friendship. It is the story of a mystical tavern and how the people who go there develop over the course of a year: Ceph, the seventeen-year-old bartender who has seen all his loved ones die; Tom, the depressed old man, whom death will not take; Rye, who visits every day, though he died a year ago; Nael, the blind minstrel who saw war too young; Lona, the mysterious hunter of the dead; Trin, the girl who refuses to deal with her past; and the crow who watches over it all, cawing only when someone dies in Azrael’s Stop.

I appreciate the tone, sensitivity and maturity with which Johnson handles the topic of death. What each of the characters struggle with are very real issues. Nothing is trite or gratuitous, even when Johnson uses humour and irony. It is an intriguing story that captivates and, in my mind, compels the reader toward living and loving life.

I hope you’ll head on over to Silverstring Media and check it out. Both the ebook and soundtrack are available at 50% off the $9.99 total, if you subscribe. It’s a deal I can’t refuse.

Enjoy more great music by Devin Vibert:

So tell me, what’s your writing ritual? And how’s it going with your writing projects?

***

I’m going to write this novel. Word by word.

New grains of sand: 4756

Current status: 22,172

