Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We enjoyed an extended sunny summer here in Vancouver. With the BC teacher’s strike, kids literally did not return to school until the first day of fall. And then, with the turn of a calendar page, along came the rain… pouring and pouring… still pouring… will it ever stop? pouring.

Seasons change.

This fall we moved, I returned fulltime to my masters program, my husband started a new job, and we celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary, my daughter’s birthday, and my husband’s birthday… ALL within a two-week time period! It’s a ‘new’ season and a ‘happening all at once’ season.

I thought to share with you this song from Future Islands, Seasons (I’ve Been Waiting On You). Watching it, I don’t know whether to laugh or cry… he’s just too intense! A little like life, I guess.

Okay, so I mostly laugh.

***

News and Updates:

My picture book, Oosh Goosh Down in the Woods, was shortlisted in the SiWC writing contest (Writing for Young People Category).

My painting, Oh, Jerusalem!, was selected for inclusion in this year’s Christian Seasons Calendar. You may remember Oh, Jerusalem! from A Little Sheepish… Chalk on Dirt where I shared about a painting created from dirt and egg yolk paint.

This summer I wrote 50,000 words of my current novel-in-progress. While I didn’t make it all the way to my 70,000 word goal, I’m quite content with the accomplishment. Besides, I reached a point where it made sense to return to ‘research mode’. If you’re new to Popcorn with a Spoon, I shared the journey in a series of posts called Novel Ideas: Diarrhea Draft, Doing the Math, Faulty Metaphor and Character Alignment, The Writing Ritual, Research versus Writing (and Pottery in Ancient Palestine), and Positive Affirmation.

***

How about you? Any seasons of change in your life right now? What do you think of this song by Future Islands? Did you attend the SiWC Writers’ Conference? Please share your news and updates.

