Tags

, , ,

Do you like receiving invitations? I do!

Isn’t it great to know that you are welcome? That your presence is requested? That you are thought of and sought after?

Yes, being invited is quite a lovely thing. So today I want to share with you some of my favourite invitations.

From my daughter: “Momma, will you come cuddle with me?”

From Isaiah:

“Come, all you who are thirsty,
    come to the waters;
and you who have no money,
    come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
    without money and without cost.”

                                            –Isaiah 55:1

From Uncle Elephant: “Come out of this dark place!”

From Shel Silverstein:

If you are a dreamer, come in,

If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,

A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer…

If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire

For we have some flax-golden tales to spin.

Come in!

Come in!

                                                —Where the Sidewalk Ends

The first invitation… well, that one is just for me. I’m my daughter’s only Momma, always and forever so shall it be.

But the others… well, they are addressed to you as much as they are to me. Those invitations I freely extend. So how about it? Shall we pour a glass of wine, light a fire, and start spinning some flax-golden tales?

By the Fire

I’m back full-force to writing and research for my novel. And I’ve done the math:

750 words/day, five days a week, times 12 weeks = 45,000 words

750 words/day, six days a weeks, times 12 weeks = 54,000 words

That’s where I’ll be, come September, when I dive back into coursework. 45,000 – 54,000 words richer… the last half of my first draft complete.

And you? What are your goals over the summer? Will you join me in setting some? Have you been spinning (or reading) any flax-golden tales? Feel free to let me know in the comments below.

© Kelly Dycavinu and Popcorn with a Spoon, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kelly Dycavinu and Popcorn with a Spoon with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

